The 1000 Pound Total

When I started lifting more seriously one of my first goals I set for myself was achieving the 1000 pound total. If you’re unfamiliar it’s the total of your flat bench press, deadlift, and squat. I viewed it as a long term, but realistic goal. Recently I surpassed this goal.

I don’t post this to brag, once you look into the strength world at all, you know it’s really just not that strong. Maybe compared to the average guy walking around, but who cares about being average. I bring it up because I feel it is something each and every man without a limiting health issue can accomplish.

Getting under the bar can be extremely difficult on even the best of days. It’s love/hate even if it’s mostly love. It induces the pain that creates our better self. Sometimes that isn’t enough on its own. While its easy to say that thought out goals provide that extra drive, that’s not always enough either.

What I found was always enough when I got under that bar so many times was I knew that thousand pounds was mine. I just had to take it. Do what was necessary to get what belonged to me. Not everyone’s goals are going to be the same as mine, but know that your share of iron is just waiting for you to claim it.

20120927-224908.jpg

15 thoughts on “The 1000 Pound Total

  1. Pingback: Spam Achievement Unlocked | The Hunt

  2. Socialkenny

    What is the rational behind all this(heavy lifting)? I’ve always seen it as pointless. It really is pointless to me and anyone else who has a life.

    Feel free to rationalize heavy lifting to me (or us normal ppl).

    Reply
    1. Young Hunter Post author

      It can be rationalized in numerous ways depending on what someone’s goals are, but let’s take a common and sensible one: staying lean and fit. There’s no better way to lose body fat than lifting. Not just “weight” which is often muscle being burned off when people decide to take up exercise to lose weight. Which is why you see people who lost a lot of weight through primarily becoming a cardio-holic look shitty they’re skinny-fat.

      Coupled with a reasonably dialed in diet there is NO better way to focus on actual fat loss. And in the process you also are going to get the nice bonus of being stronger. Everyday my job is a bit easier due to higher strength levels. Also having a stronger core decreases back injury risk, which is extremely high in healthcare.

      It doesn’t have to be an all consuming time sink either. A good functional strength base can be built in a few hours a week. There are some really good two day a week programs out there.

      Reply
      1. annelyomega

        Very well spoken. Definitely not a fan of the skinny-fat look! I reread your post and didn’t see numbers for your given exercises. Mind breaking them down?

        Reply
        1. Young Hunter Post author

          I originally wasn’t going to get into specifics, because due to anonymity I’m not planning on posting anything to “prove” it. But my numbers are pretty pedestrian at this point, so:

          Bench: 290
          Squat: 340
          Deadlift: 385

          Reply
          1. annelyomega

            That’s still really good! I was just wondering out of pure curiosity and not looking for you to “prove” yourself on here. My husband is always talking about what he does at the gym and of course our training plans are different, so when I read about the 1000 pound total, it piqued my interest. Thanks for sharing!

            Reply
              1. annelyomega

                If I’m not mistaken, he wants his 1 rep max for bench to be 395. He’s been there before but took a break due to a shoulder injury, so right now I want to say that he’s at 325. Me, on the other hand, I just want to be able to confidently get up on the competition stage for NPC Bikini next year! I’ve got a lot of military training coming up for my job, so I won’t be able to focus on a show until mid-late next year.

                Reply
                1. Young Hunter Post author

                  That great, Dave Tate always said that nothing can make a person want to progress and be better than competing, regardless of the level of lifting or fitness a person is at. I believe he said it would be first piece of advice to any new lifter.

  3. Pingback: LIGFY – After The Hang Over Recap | Society of Amateur Gentlemen

Leave a Reply

